Fluerieu Peninsula Attractions

Encounter Bay, Victor Harbor, Hayborough, Port Elliot, Middleton and Goolwa local attractions

Bring the family down, stay for the week in one of our relaxing holiday properties.

Be sure to check out the latest and greatest attraction in Victor Harbor, Swim with the Tuna located just off Granite Island


Victor Harbor

 

Day Spa @ McCracken Country Club

Day Spa @ McCracken Country Club

Map

Day Spa @ McCracken Country Club (by WorkFlow Massage) offers a variety of indulgent services that will leave you floating on air. From manicures, pedicures and waxing through to h...more

Encounter Coast Discovery Centre and The Old Customs and Station Masters House

Encounter Coast Discovery Centre and The Old Customs and Station Masters House

Map

At the Encounter Coast Discovery Centre, learn about the historic Australian meeting between English and French explorers Matthew Flinders and Nicolas Baudin in 1802. Walk throu...more

Granite Island Nature Park - Guided Penguin Tours

Granite Island Nature Park - Guided Penguin Tours

Map

Welcome to the Granite Island Recreation and Nature Park - home to the magical Little Penguins. Granite Island is home to a small colony of wild Little Penguins, who return home ...more

Kiri Kiri Aboriginal Art Gallery and Gifts

Kiri Kiri Aboriginal Art Gallery and Gifts

Map

Kiri Kiri Fine Art Gallery specialises in Aboriginal art sourced directly from remote central Australian art centres. The gallery represents more than 80 predominantly South Aus...more

McCracken Country Club Golf Course

McCracken Country Club Golf Course

Map

Located one hour from Adelaide at Victor Harbor on the magnificent Fleurieu Peninsula, this 4.5 star resort is the ideal destination for your next getaway, offering luxury accommod...more

Ocean Art Gallery

Ocean Art Gallery

Map

The old bakehouse and residence in Railway Terrace, Victor Harbor is the home of the Ocean Art Gallery, which displays traditional and modern works of art from a cooperative of 17 ...more

South Australian Whale Centre

South Australian Whale Centre

Map

The South Australian Whale Centre is South Australia's largest marine focused interpretative centre and has the only marine focused three-dimensional theatrette in South Australia....more

Southern Fleurieu Fish

Southern Fleurieu Fish

Map

Southern Fleurieu Fish is a shop for the serious seafood lover. Watch the professionals in the trade processing fish on site through the glass doors. The display is brimming with t...more

The Joyful Buddhas

The Joyful Buddhas

Map

Experience indulgence, health, and wellness at The Joyful Buddhas health and wellbeing studio. Situated in the heart of the beautiful Fleurieu Peninsula, The Joyful Buddhas in ...more

Victor Harbor Farmers Market

Victor Harbor Farmers Market

Map

The Victor Harbor Farmers Market showcases regional produce from the Fleurieu, Kangaroo Island, Adelaide Hills and Riverland regions. The market operates every Saturday 8.00 am - 1...more

Victor Harbor Golf Club

Victor Harbor Golf Club

Map

The Victor Harbor Golf Club course, not long by today's standards, needs straight shot making in order to score well. It is accorded an Australian Course Rating of 71 and is 5,962 ...more

Victor Harbor Horse Drawn Tramway

Victor Harbor Horse Drawn Tramway

Map

Take a ride on the only horse-drawn tramway in Australia, and one of the few services to run throughout the year worldwide. Magnificent Clydesdale horses draw you along the causewa...more

Waggon Road Studio Gallery

Waggon Road Studio Gallery

Map

Do you enjoy wildlife art? Do you have children who love learning about Australian animals? Do you like hands on experiences? Then this place is worth a visit. This is the educa...more

Animal Farm Goolwa

Animal Farm Goolwa

Map

Animal Farm Goolwa is a family run attraction where old and young can interact with a large variety of animals and enjoy a fun and relaxing day out for the whole family. The fa...more

Art@Goolwa Inc

Art@Goolwa Inc

Map

Art@Goolwa Inc is a cooperative of 25 local artists exhibiting original work and encouraging art in the community. The gallery features art by award winning artists across all m...more

Encounter Bikeway

Encounter Bikeway

Map

Located on the beautiful Fleurieu Peninsula (approximately 90 minute drive from Adelaide city), the Encounter Bikeway travels along pristine coastline linking the heritage towns of...more

Goolwa Artworx Gallery

Goolwa Artworx Gallery

Map

Goolwa Artworx Gallery is located 80 kilometres and an hours' drive south of Adelaide at Goolwa. Situated in the heart of the Goolwa heritage precinct, it is close to the old ri...more

Goolwa Community Arts And Crafts Shop

Goolwa Community Arts And Crafts Shop

Map

The Goolwa Community Arts and Crafts Shop is stocked with goods made by local crafts people. You will also find a range of jams, pickles, biscuits, woodwork, toys, art and china pa...more

Goolwa Golf Course

Goolwa Golf Course

Map

The Goolwa Golf Course is a nine-hole course of 4,936 metres with a Par 60 and an Australian Course Rating of 64. It has scrapes with two greens in play and others being developed ...more

Goolwa Motor Museum

Goolwa Motor Museum

Map

Goolwa Motor Museum exhibits classic cars from all over the world. There are 45 cars on display from the 1920's to the 1970's including some unique one offs. The museum is right ...more

Goolwa Wharf Markets

Goolwa Wharf Markets

Map

Goolwa Wharf Markets is held on the first and third Sunday of each month, as well as other special event days. You will find a myriad of goods on offer with around 80 stalls. Wheth...more

Paddle Steamer Oscar W

Paddle Steamer Oscar W

Map

The Oscar W is a steam driven wood fired authentic working paddle steamer built at Echuca, Victoria in 1908. Located at the Main Wharf in the historic Goolwa Wharf Precinct, Gool...more

River Boat Trail

River Boat Trail

Map

During the latter half of the nineteenth and early twentieth century's the River Murray was a major inland highway for pastoralists, settlers and travellers. Fleets of paddle steam...more

River Dolls Of Goolwa

River Dolls Of Goolwa

Map

River Dolls of Goolwa offers two experiences for all members of the family when you visit. A display of 3000 items showcases dolls, toys, teddies, trains and other childhood memora...more

Sand Drift Gallery

Sand Drift Gallery

Map

Visit award-winning artist Carol Coventry's Sand Drift Gallery/Studio. You will be able to view Australian land scapes, seascapes and animals in pastel and acrylic. There is also a...more

South Lakes Golf Club

South Lakes Golf Club

Map

A seaside resort where the River Murray meets the Southern Ocean. Play golf on our 18 hole course with lush fairways and excellent greens, set against a backdrop of sand dunes. The...more

Steam Exchange Brewery

Steam Exchange Brewery

Map

The Steam Exchange Brewery, located in the centre of the historic Goolwa Wharf Precinct, revives the grand tradition of brewing fine ales as part of the Fleurieu Peninsula’s regi...more

Tourist Drive Route 50

Tourist Drive Route 50

Map

Tourist Drive Route 50 is 73 kilometres of breath taking coastal and rural scenery. On your journey you will see some of the most picturesque and historic locations the Fleurie...more



 

Historical Attractions

 THE OLD CUSTOMS & STATIONMASTER’S HOUSE
– 2 Flinders Parade. 

This house was built of stone in 1866 by the Contractor, Mr Robert Redman, as a new residence for the Collector of Customs and Harbour Master. The original building cost 1,300 pounds ($2,600) to construct. It was of Georgian style with a slate roof and verandah along the front and back. In 1911, the South Australian Railways acquired it for use as a station-master’s residence, and it served that purpose for some 60 years. The South Coast Branch (now the Victor Harbor Branch) of the National Trust became the occupier in 1986, and has since built the Encounter Coast Discovery Centre adjacent to the Old Customs House as a Museum to showcase the history of the south coast area. An interesting feature attached to the old building is the original Victor Harbor public toilet.

POLICE POINT

This is the point of land leading to the Causeway, so named because the only substantial building in Victor Harbor in 1840 was the Police Station, erected on what is now Warland Reserve, and eventually demolished in 1912. In 1863, two bridges were opened – the Alexandra Bridge over the Hindmarsh River and the Newland Bridge over the Inman River. They gave easy access to Police Point where the beginning of organised settlement then began to take place

VICTOR HARBOR HORSE DRAWN TRAM

The Victor Harbor Horse Drawn Tram was originally established in 1854 to link the Murray Darling pastoral riches coming into the river port of Goolwa, the salt-water port of Port Elliot and to the international markets. When Port Elliot failed to provide safe anchorage, the railway was extended to Port Victor and by wooden causeway, across to the sheltered anchorage off Granite Island. The Victor Harbor Horse Drawn Tram was notably, Australia’s first rail service. In December of 1894, the first passenger service was introduced by the South Australian Railways to transport tourists to and from the scenic Granite Island. The Horse Drawn service was replaced in 1954 with a less popular motorised ‘tractor tram’. In 1986 the District Council of Victor Harbor re-established the original horse drawn tram service as a Jubilee 150 community project and has continued to operate daily and win numerous awards.

 

THE CAUSEWAY, BREAKWATER and SCREWPILE JETTY

Construction of the Victoria Pier was begun in 1862 and took nearly two years to complete. It was almost 600 yards long and cost about 8,800 pounds ($17,600). Even while Victoria Pier was being completed, there was a strong local push for it to be extended to Granite Island. Owing to increase in trade in the following years, it was decided to continue with the extension, which was completed in 1875. During the progress of work, great difficulty was encountered in driving piles through the limestone crust of the reef. At this time, the first shipping pier was built at Granite Island and known locally as the Working Jetty, followed by the Screwpile Jetty (a unique pier secured by screwing the piles directly into the granite seabed), and the breakwater, which was completed in 1882 using granite stone blasted from the eastern end of the Island


WOOL STORES

Flinders Parade. Several large stores were erected along the railway line in 1870 and used for dumping and storing wool awaiting shipment. The last remaining wool store building, used by George Read, has been extended and is now used by the local R.S.L. members as their Clubrooms.

 THE OLD CUSTOMS & STATIONMASTER’S HOUSE
– 2 Flinders Parade. 

This house was built of stone in 1866 by the Contractor, Mr Robert Redman, as a new residence for the Collector of Customs and Harbour Master. The original building cost 1,300 pounds ($2,600) to construct. It was of Georgian style with a slate roof and verandah along the front and back. In 1911, the South Australian Railways acquired it for use as a station-master’s residence, and it served that purpose for some 60 years. The South Coast Branch (now the Victor Harbor Branch) of the National Trust became the occupier in 1986, and has since built the Encounter Coast Discovery Centre adjacent to the Old Customs House as a Museum to showcase the history of the south coast area. An interesting feature attached to the old building is the original Victor Harbor public toilet.

POLICE POINT

This is the point of land leading to the Causeway, so named because the only substantial building in Victor Harbor in 1840 was the Police Station, erected on what is now Warland Reserve, and eventually demolished in 1912. In 1863, two bridges were opened – the Alexandra Bridge over the Hindmarsh River and the Newland Bridge over the Inman River. They gave easy access to Police Point where the beginning of organised settlement then began to take place

VICTOR HARBOR HORSE DRAWN TRAM

The Victor Harbor Horse Drawn Tram was originally established in 1854 to link the Murray Darling pastoral riches coming into the river port of Goolwa, the salt-water port of Port Elliot and to the international markets. When Port Elliot failed to provide safe anchorage, the railway was extended to Port Victor and by wooden causeway, across to the sheltered anchorage off Granite Island. The Victor Harbor Horse Drawn Tram was notably, Australia’s first rail service. In December of 1894, the first passenger service was introduced by the South Australian Railways to transport tourists to and from the scenic Granite Island. The Horse Drawn service was replaced in 1954 with a less popular motorised ‘tractor tram’. In 1986 the District Council of Victor Harbor re-established the original horse drawn tram service as a Jubilee 150 community project and has continued to operate daily and win numerous awards.

 

THE CAUSEWAY, BREAKWATER and SCREWPILE JETTY

Construction of the Victoria Pier was begun in 1862 and took nearly two years to complete. It was almost 600 yards long and cost about 8,800 pounds ($17,600). Even while Victoria Pier was being completed, there was a strong local push for it to be extended to Granite Island. Owing to increase in trade in the following years, it was decided to continue with the extension, which was completed in 1875. During the progress of work, great difficulty was encountered in driving piles through the limestone crust of the reef. At this time, the first shipping pier was built at Granite Island and known locally as the Working Jetty, followed by the Screwpile Jetty (a unique pier secured by screwing the piles directly into the granite seabed), and the breakwater, which was completed in 1882 using granite stone blasted from the eastern end of the Island


WOOL STORES
Flinders Parade.

Several large stores were erected along the railway line in 1870 and used for dumping and storing wool awaiting shipment. The last remaining wool store building, used by George Read, has been extended and is now used by the local R.S.L. members as their Clubrooms.

 

THE SOLDIERS’ MEMORIAL GARDENS
– Flinders Parade.

The Norfolk Island Pines were planted by volunteers in memory of those who lost their lives during the World War of 1914-18, and an extensive garden laid out, in the centre of which is the Memorial Monolith.



 THE ANCHORAGE
– (formerly “Warringa”) – cnr. Flinders Pde & Coral St.

Built in Queen Anne style as a residence in 1910 and extended in 1912. “Warringa’ was advertised as an exclusive guest house with conveniences on both floors and with accommodation for sixty guests. Another wing was added in 1952 in modern style, and it still operates as a guesthouse and restaurant